IBKR MiFIR registration

blake_ch

Hi all,

I went through the IBKR registration thanks the various guides here, however there's one part that I couldn't fill and don't know the impact. I am a swiss citizen and resident and registered accordingly for a simple account, providing address in switzerland and all...

I'm stuck with the "MiFIR National Client Identifiers" section. I shall provide my passport informations, which I do not have (I only have an identity card). There is a note saying :
Failure to complete this task and provide us with the valid national identifier may result in restricted trading

I have the possibility to say that I don't have said document, but will that limit my ability to buy US ETFs? I don't want to buy a passport just for trading purposes...

thank you very much

Hi blake

Interesting, I never thought of filling the application without a passport. Don't you have an option to use a national ID instead of a passport? Given we are outside the EU, a passport is probably mandatory.

Without it, it may indeed result in not having access to US ETFs.

You can edit almost all the data after the application, so I would recommend continuing with the application and see what happens. You don't have much to lose.

Hi Baptiste,

Yes, I did register with the national ID, and ibkr confirmed my profile quite quickly when I created the account.

But I went to the "Tax Forms" page in my profile, to check if everything was filled correctly for the W-8BEN (which I had, in fact, already filled in the first application) and saw the part as shown on the screenshot below.

It feels counter-intuitive, as the disclaimer in blue is about failing to provide national identity (which I did through the above section + picture of it). I don't know if I should say "no" to the latest question.

thank you very much

Screenshot_20240916_130857.png

That form is really bad, it's really unclear.