Buffett indicator

vituszoli2

Dear Baptiste,
I am still a beginner although thanks to your web site and the other referenced bloggers I learned tons in the past couple if weeks. THANKS!

What do you think about the Buffett Indicator? It really looks like the US market is strongly overvalued. Can this be an indicator for a coming downturn or even a recession?

Apparently Morningstar comes to the same conclusion: https://www.morningstar.com/news/ma...ock-market-is-overvalued-from-any-perspective

Would you recommend to start investing a bit more defensively or maybe start rebalancing? Or to save some cash in order to be able to invest when the markets are down?

I am not at all in panic but a little bit emotional because I am investing some money my father donated me (his lifelong savings) as a kind of “prepaid” heritage.

Thansk for your thoughts on this topic,
Zoltán from Bern/Switzerland

Hi

The market may be overvalued, but I do not plan to do anything about it. I invest for the long term, and I disregarded any local event. So, I will simply continue to invest every month as usual.

If you think the market is too expensive, it may make sense to start an opportunity fund. This money will be available in a down turn to buy more. But be advised that most people doing that end up worse than if they had simply kept investing.

Generally, I follow the simple advice: Time in the market beats timing the market

Hi Baptiste, thanks for your thoughts.

Today also JP Morgan expressed their concern about a major stock market bubble.
I try to take descisions based on available facts (Buffett index, Morningstar, JP Morgan) knowing that even them are not able foresee the near future...
It's not that I stop investing but currently I tend to invest smaller amounts of money on a monthly basis. For me this is critical as I try to reach FI in the next 8 to 10 years. I am at 48% FI ratio and according to your calculator I would reach FI in 8 years:) Thanks for the gorgeous tools!